Why I love Steam

Steam is a good way to buy and keep your games. I know Steam is not for everyone, but I will tell you why I really like it.

Over the years, I’ve bought a few games. Mostly the original CD’s or DVD’s went missing, and I guess its questionable if I still have legal access to these games. I’ve also given away a lot of games I got tired of, only to think later on, “heh didn’t I used to own that game”. But the few games I purchased with Steam years ago, are still mine, still available to play and get game updates, and yes its fully legal.

Now I know that in the PC gaming world, a lot of people like getting games for free mainly because of the high pricing of games. I guess you can also contribute a lot of piracy to the fact that the culture of piracy was born long before the digital age and e-commerce. “Buy a cassette tape, here have a copy!” , things were just different in the 80’s and 90’s. Piracy only really caught on and started to rob from software and gaming profit margins in the late 90’s, but still the whole “why pay when you can get stuff for free” culture prevailed. Let’s not beat around the bush, most gamers who have at least 20 games in their collection more than likely paid for none of them, or just a few of them.

I’ve come to a point where I would rather have an ALL legal collection. Maybe its because I have a conscience, it has nothing to do with the law or being a “good citizen”. It has everything to do with living with myself, and at least trying to be a good person.

On the flip side, if you’re pirating, because you’re not paying any money, you can try and play any game you want for free. If the game sucked ass, you can uninstall it and move on, all you’ve lost is some bandwidth and time. If you walked into a shop and excitedly bought a game you thought would be cool, because the cover looked great, or the marketing hype said it would be great, and it sucks ass, you’re the loser. The worst case scenario is the game might not install, well then you still have to take it back to the shops, and beg for a refund.

That’s what I really like about Steam. Steam offer a lot of trial versions of the game, so you can try before you buy. Excellent variety too.

You will need a good solid internet connection to use Steam, no point in trying to download on a 56k modem.

I still wish the prices of games would come down. But I am sure that for legal gaming, steam is the way to go.

One thought on “Why I love Steam

Leave a Reply

