Eheim Ecco Pro 200 breaks and leaks after 1 use

This is not a typical technology post, but it does have to do with technology inside an aquarium.

Recently I purchased an Eheim Ecco Pro 200. It was my first canister filter and I bought it for my new 160l aquarium. My idea was to house Cychlids, specifically Mbunas.

The guide that comes with the Eheim Ecco Pro 200, is not fully comprehensive and if you’re new to canister filters they can be a bit daunting. The guide contains a few pages written in many languages, so it is confusing having to flip back and forth, and at the same time not exactly written for the beginner in mind.

I figured out how to get it running, but never opened it, it has been running fine for the past 2 weeks. In the meantime I’ve created a habitat for the 6 Mbunas now housed.

About 2 hours ago, I decided I would open up the filter to familiarize myself with how it works. Opening the filter is fairly easy, you turn off the intake valve, followed by turning off the out valve. Now no water can come in or out. After this you disconnect the power, and finally turn the lever to the open position.

It was at this time the Eheim Ecco pro 200 broke. The canister cracked as I turned the lever into the open position. Needless to say I’m not amused by this. I’ll now have to post the unit back to where I bought it from and wait for a replacement. In the meantime I’ll need to find another solution for my fish, who without filtration will perish.

I’ve learnt from this experience that besides Eheim claiming to be a high quality filter manufactured in Germany with German standards. It is in reality made from very cheap plastic that can break very easily just by opening the filter.

I would definitely not recommend this filter to anyone in need of a quality solution. I can’t state just how annoyed I am from this experience.

Leave a Reply

