Can’t send an sms on your Android ICS custom rom? Read this

I haven’t used a stock Android ROM, well since I got my first ZTE Blade. During this time I’ve had no problems sending SMS messages (Text messages), but recently this changed.

I installed yet another custom ROM like any other and one day noticed I couldn’t send an SMS. I thought it might be something related to the ROM which was experimental, so I wiped the phone and cache and installed something I knew worked before – only this time around it didn’t work.

For about 2 weeks I thought my phone was broken but I found the solution.

If you’re using ICS and have the same problem this should sort you out.

Why this happens?

The custom rom keeps the original SMSC setting sometimes (SMS Message Center number) – this is basically a phone number and it will differ depending on your phone network provider.

The solution?

1. Enter the Testing menu by dialing the following:  *#*#4636#*#*

2. Scroll down till you find the SMSC setting – it will be blank, so press REFRESH, this will retrieve the existing setting. Mine ended up being “+447785016005″

3. Delete the number but keep the quotation marks, and full in your correct SMSC number – you can find this on the website typically of your network provider. If it isn’t there or hard to find, phone tech support and get the number, or else visit a branch in person. Fill in this number inside the quotation marks. If you get 145 suffixed to the end, just delete that too, it will recreate it for you.

4. Update the setting

5. Test send an sms it should work.

3 thoughts on “Can’t send an sms on your Android ICS custom rom? Read this

  1. doesnt work.i have moto defy with android 4.0 ics and i cannot send sms even after i make wath you write.any ideea?it cand be the soft that i am using now with some bugs in it?

  2. i press update but when i come out of the setting and come in back it is blank again even with or without the qoutes

Leave a Reply

