Support the troops

My view point on a certain matter has changed. You see, for roughly the entirety of my life, since I was born on this amazing little rock circling the sun, America has had it’s Army and Airforce aligned to the middle east and my entire life I’ve thought well obviously those greedy bastards are just after the oil.

This has influenced my thinking on war, the military and how politicians can direct force disguised as one thing or another and how the general population can be duped. I’ve thought like this my entire life up until very recently.

That event that changed it all was the Taliban coming to power in Afghanistan. This one event got me to question everything I thought I knew about war and US involvement.

War isn’t glamorous

I’m sure a great deal of those previous suspicions I had are shared by many and war or military involvement isn’t straightforward, certainly there are always going to be cases where corruption or hidden agendas are present, but on the other hand let’s get back to basics and discuss the obvious.

The obvious point we must acknowledge is that humans are nothing more than a species of apes. Fairly intelligent apes capable of creating powerful and destructive weaponries to kill other apes. Petty apes who cannot always reason through problems or find peaceful solutions. Apes who possess multiple world view points and divided by cultures, religions, ideologies and geographic barriers. Not all of these apes are noble, and not all of these groups of apes and their ideologies are good for humanity at large. Certainly even in 2021 more than ever dogma tends to be the predominant theme.

I’m against the idea of a simplistic black and white model of good vs evil. What I do however strongly believe in is that people can be programmed to believe almost anything and that programming is not always good, and can not always be reasoned away.

Hence war and hence a vigilant and powerful military force is sometimes needed to keep such elements at bay. Sometimes that force will be the US Army or Nato.

This isn’t a dig at Muslims

The world has a huge population of Muslims who aren’t out for blood or domination, who are generous and kind people who just like everyone else wants to live a good and peaceful life. These muslims are valuable to humanity. Unfortunately with everything in life, there are always going to be bad elements of what might be an otherwise good thing.

Support your troops

Because when perhaps one day, action is required against bad elements of humanity it isn’t going to be your Netflix watching ass that will do anything about it while you theorize conspiracies and wish the problem went away.

Leave a comment